Home » RDBMS Server » Server Utilities » Running CATALOG.SQL and Catexp.sql (Oracle 9i)
Running CATALOG.SQL and Catexp.sql [message #346278] Mon, 08 September 2008 01:10 Go to next message
virmahi
Hi,
I am new to export and import. I was facing some problem with export option. I looked into google and found that I should run the file catexp.sql and catalog.sql.
I ran the sql catexp.sql but after I executed the file, I realized that the username with which I had logged in didn't had DBA rights. So I saw many messages which alerted that DBA permission is required. And many objects got created and many not due to permission problem. I didn't knew what to do and I closed the window of Sql*Plus.

The problem with export was due to something else and I was able to export. But later in the evening I found that when I reconnected the database I started getting errors like:

ORA-00980 synonym translation is no longer valid
ORA-04063: view "WYETH.V_$OPTION" has errors

There are other databases too on the same server and they all are getting this error.
I don't know what happenend and how to correct this.

Further I looked at the link:
http://www.orafaq.com/wiki/Export
and found that :
Quote:
To use export utility CATEXP.SQL or CATALOG.SQL (which in turn call CATEXP.SQL) must be run after the database has been created. CATEXP.SQL has to be run only once when the database is created. In case CATEXP.SQL was not called by CATALOG.SQL (due to CATALOG.SQL not finding the file CATEXP.SQL where it needs), you can run CATEXP.SQL as user SYS. Be careful not to run CATALOG.SQL once again as it might destroy your data dictionaries.

I am afraid if I had done a blunder mistake.

Please help me in correcting the mistake I have done.

Regards,
Mahi

[Updated on: Mon, 08 September 2008 01:15] by Moderator

Report message to a moderator

Re: Running CATALOG.SQL and Catexp.sql [message #346281 is a reply to message #346278] Mon, 08 September 2008 01:17 Go to previous messageGo to next message