Home » RDBMS Server » Server Utilities » import problem (oracleXE apex 3.1.2)
import problem [message #357904] Fri, 07 November 2008 02:46 Go to next message
dr.s.raghunathan
hi,

i am new to this thread (server utilities ). I have one problem on exporting and importing tables of the same user workspace same password.

For example.

In home and office in both places i am using one userid and same password.

In home i create 4 tables populated with 20 rows on each.

using imp/exp i import the same dmp at office and add another 10 rows for each table

now i take dump and take it to home.

in house if i use imp add rows are not updating in my house tables. I need to drop all the tables and then importing gets accommadating all the 30 rows.

This is one problem.

Another problem if add another table add some rows to existing table imports make me to add another table with full rows where as add rows in existing tables are getting imported.

Everytime I have to drop all the tables and importing. What sort of the mistake i am doing? The same question i have raised in some other fourm and did not get reply. Hence I am refining my request with examples to this forum.

can any one help me

yours
dr.s.raghuathan
Re: import problem [message #357912 is a reply to message #357904] Fri, 07 November 2008 03:03 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
Import utility does NOT update records; it INSERTS them.

You don't have to drop tables; use IGNORE=Y option when importing data - it will skip CREATE TABLE errors and insert records. If there are primary / unique key constraints, import will skip such a records (and log when/if they fail).
Re: import problem [message #357916 is a reply to message #357912] Fri, 07 November 2008 03:46 Go to previous messageGo to next message
dr.s.raghunathan
@littlefoot,