Home » Other » General » Database Design Review
Database Design Review [message #482726] Mon, 15 November 2010 11:37 Go to next message
IcedDante
I am fairly new to Database creation and wanted to post my design on this forum to get some feedback. Reading through the different sub forums here I am unsure of which one is the right one for such a post. Designer? General?

Or if it is here I'll just ask in this thread.
Re: Database Design Review [message #482734 is a reply to message #482726] Mon, 15 November 2010 11:56 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
The one hard and fast rule for this forum, is that there are NO hard and fast rules.

IMO, this is as good a place as any for your thread.

It would be helpful if you followed Posting Guidelines - http://www.orafaq.com/forum/t/88153/0/
Re: Database Design Review [message #482752 is a reply to message #482726] Mon, 15 November 2010 12:55 Go to previous messageGo to next message
IcedDante
Cool so then, here it is:
This will be used to hold information for the size of clothes for specific labels at different stores. I wanted to get critiques and suggestions for alternatives on my work.

Let me know what you all think.

Table: Size
This will actually be three tables, each modeling a different type of sizing. There's your standard Small, Medium, Large. Then there's Women's sizing: 00, 0, 2, 4, 6, 8, etc. Finally petite sizing, 0P, 2P, 4P, 6P, etc.

This table will hold an integer that represent the centimeter length for each size. So there will be a SizeStd, SizeSML, and SizePetite table. Each size will be a column and have a primary key generated ID. So, the columns of SizeSML would be:

• Id
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL

Table: Measurement
Columns are:

• Id: Primary Key
  • Type: Secondary Key. This is an enumerated type and can be BUST, WAIST, HIP, INSEAM, or TORSO
  • SizeStdKey
  • SizePetiteKey
  • SizeSMLKey