Home » Other » Community Hangout » Hi everybody!
Hi everybody! [message #522168] Wed, 07 September 2011 01:54 Go to next message
Baranor
Hey folks,

Didn't see an actual introduction area, so I figured I'd post it here, seems to be the closest to Off Topic as it gets Wink

Name's Barry ( well, my internet alias is ), I'm 31 years old at the moment, work as a software engineer on a decent sized app (400+ forms) for governemental licensing and am really enjoying the Oracle Trade. I've been doing PL/SQL, Designer and Forms for about 5 years now, have my OCP ( got that within a year after I hopped over from the pharmaceutical industry) and for some reason this database stuff is right up my alley. Strange, considering I have an MSc in Biology O_o.

So, HI!

p.s. English is not my native language, I might make a mistake here and there.
Re: Hi everybody! [message #522176 is a reply to message #522168] Wed, 07 September 2011 02:28 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
Hello, Barry! Welcome Smile
Re: Hi everybody! [message #522453 is a reply to message #522168] Fri, 09 September 2011 13:58 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
Hi, Barry - I hope you have fun here, and keep contributing good answers. You moved from pharmaceuticals to computing? Perhaps bits and bytes are more predictable then microbes and bacteria. Or perhaps not, given my recent experiences with the Cost Based Optimizer.
Cheers, John.
Re: Hi everybody! [message #523498 is a reply to message #522453] Mon, 19 September 2011 02:56 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Baranor
Ha, I'd not put any money on that indeed. Part of the fun is exploring Oracle and its many varied and sometimes mystical error messages... The name in itself is predictive... but of course, an "Oracle database" is a lot easier to spell than a "magic-8-ball-database" Wink